The Mythopoeic Society

Click here for The Mythopoeic Society WEBPAGE

The Mythopoeic Society is a non-profit international literary and educational organization devoted to the study, discussion, and enjoyment of the works of the Inklings: J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and Charles Williams, and to the study and appreciation of the realm of myth and the genres of fantasy. The word "mythopoeic" means "mythmaking" or "productive of myths." It is a word that fits well the fictional and mythic works of the three authors, who were prominent members of a informal literary circle known as the Inklings, which met in Oxford, England, between the 1930s and the 1950s.

The Mythopoeic Society was founded in 1967 by Glen H. GoodKnight. In 1970 it held the first annual Mythopoeic Conference. The Mythopoeic Fantasy and Scholarship Awards were first given in 1971. Today, Society members and Discussion or Special Interest Groups can be found scattered across the United States, and around the world. There are three Society publications: the monthly bulletin, Mythprint, the quarterly journal of Inklings and Fantasy studies, Mythlore, and the tri-quarterly creative writing workshop-in-print, Mythic Circle.

Members of The Mythopoeic Society include scholars, writers, and readers of mythic and fantasy literature, scattered across the United States and around the world. Membership in the Society is $5 per year, which entitles the member to subscribe to the magazines at member's rates, along with voting rights and the annual report:

Mythprint: $12.00 per year (actually, 12 issues)
Mythlore: $15 per year (actually, 4 issues)
The Mythic Circle: $13 per year (actually, 3 issues)

higher rates apply for non-members of the Mythopoeic Society.

The Order Form.

Caution: Note that Mythprint rates have changed significantly since this order form was generated. I hope to upload a new form soon. --ddl

For subscriptions or further information, write to

The Mythopoeic Society
P.O. Box 6707,
Altadena, CA 91003.

(Edith Crowe is the corresponding secretary)

Please check out our HELP WANTED page:

Some Society officers are:

Edith Crowe, Corresponding Secretary , & 1999 Chair of the Council of Stewards



from left: Ken Lauw (a past officer), Diana Pavlac Glyer (a past officer), Mike Glyer

Ellie Farrell, Society Web-master, 2000 Chair of the Council & Editor of Mythprint (

(Ellie is pictured on the Khazad-dûm homepage)

Mike Glyer, Recording Secretary

Glen GoodKnight, Founder













Lisa Deutsch Harrigan, Treasurer

Gwyneth Hood, Editor, Mythic Circle



Lee Speth, Manager of the Orders Department

Joan Marie Verba,

Secretary for The Mythopoeic Press, and Acting Secretary for Mythopoeic Conferences (Mythcons)

(Joan is pictured on the Rivendell homepage)

Richard West is chairperson for the 1999 Mythcon, Bree Moot 4/Mythcon XXX

Back to the Bird & Baby

Off to the Official Mythopoeic Society Homepage:

Review a list of recent updates

This information prepared by David Lenander, (

The views and opinions expressed in this page are strictly those of the page author.
The contents of this page have not been reviewed or approved by the University of Minnesota.